Meet Canela:

Hi, my name is Canela, and I’m her to tell you about myself. I’m a 9-year-old female spayed tortoiseshell domestic shorthair with claws. At 15 pounds, I guess I’m a just bit plump, but I guess that’s no real surprise since my two favorite activities are eating and sleeping!

I’m still a pretty girl though. Of course what tortoiseshell isn’t pretty?! My name reflects my color because Canela means cinnamon in Spanish! My late mom was Hispanic, and thought that cinnamon was a perfect description for me. I completely agree!

As far as my personality goes, Mom’s daughter called me an absolute sweetheart. I’m outgoing and friendly and adore being loved and spending time with my people. I’m not a huge lap cat, but will grace you with your presence if I’m so inclined. As I said, I love to take naps, and my two favorite places are on my cat condo or on the couch. That having been said, I do like to play and will gladly chase any bit of string or yarn that you drag in front of me. Those poles with feathers on the end of them are a lot of fun. 😸

I am at Safe Place for Pets because my mom died not long ago and my dad is moving into an assisted living facility where he can’t have cats. I can’t understand that because we can give so much comfort just by being there. But that’s the way it is, so I guess there’s nothing to be done. But I’m only 9 years old and would dearly love to find another furever home where I can be happy and make my human or humans happy as well. I think I’d prefer a quiet home, although I’m fine with children if they don’t make too much noise. Loud noise and a lot of people make me nervous and I tend to run into the bedroom and hide under the bed until things settle down. I’m ok with dogs – quiet ones! – but I’m not sure about other cats.

If you think I might be a good fit for you, I’d be happy to meet you and see if we like each other. It’s simple to do; just call Safe Place for Pets at (719) 359-0201 or email them at info@safeplacepets.org to make an appointment. Someone will get right back to you, I promise

Age: 9
Sex: F
Size: 15 lbs.
Declawed: N
Location: Welcome Center

  • Pet Info:

  • Your Info:

Share on facebook
Facebook