Meet Cherry:

Adoption Date: 1/2/2019

Intake Date: 11/9/2018

Adoption Announcement – 1/2/2019

Hi, I’m Cherry, and today I’m here to tell you my happy furrever home story. I came to Safe Place for Pets with my housemate Smokey in November after our prior mom died. At first the two of us spent so much time together – to the point of snuggling together in my kennel – that the Safe Place volunteers thought we might need to go together. But as we got more comfortable at the Welcome Center, we didn’t need each other quite so much. So when Mom and Dad came to meet me, I was ready to take the leap.

One thing that none of us was sure about was how I would get along with my new canine sister Emma. You see, I’d never been around dogs before, so it was a bit of an experiment. It took me a while. I’m kind of shy by nature, so I spent a lot of time in a safe haven. Emma is really sweet and laid back, but she still made me nervous. We were all kind of wondering whether it would work out, but Mom and Dad were really patient with both of us, and I gradually became more comfortable with my new family. It took a whole month. That’s the beauty of the pre-adopt system that Safe Place for Pets uses. It gives everyone a chance to get to know each other without feeling pressured by already having ‘signed on the dotted line’ 😸. At any rate, by New Year’s Day, Mom, Dad, Emma, and I were all ready to commit to being a family, and on January 2, the three of them officially adopted me. You can see from my pictures how very happy I am. Happy New Year to me indeed!

Safe Place would like to thank Dr. Laurie Clauss and CatTails Feline Health Center for taking good care of Cherry before she came to us and for recommending Safe Place for Pets to the daughter of her prior mom. We wish Cherry and her new family many New Years of love and happiness.

Adoption Bio – 11/9/2018

Hi, my name is Cherry. I came to Safe Place for Pets recently with my housemate Smokey not long ago. You may have already read Smokey’s story, but if not, I’ll just say that our mom passed away a few weeks ago and we can’t join her daughter-in-law’s family because they have dogs. We certainly weren’t abandoned though! Mom’s biggest concern before she died was finding a new home for Smokey and me, and her daughter-in-law daughter promised that she would. So she brought us to Safe Place for Pets. Not only did she do that, she made sure that both of us were healthy and ready to go to new forever homes! Wow.

As for me, I am a 10-year-old female spayed dilute calico domestic shorthair with claws. What a mouthful! If you are wondering what dilute means, instead of being black and orange and white like most calicos, I am gray and tan and white. If you take a look at my pictures, you’ll see what I mean. Like Smokey, although I’m officially a domestic shorthair, I may also be something else. If you look at the picture of me on the chair you can see that my legs are super short. I’m not a “corgi cat,” but I could well be a Munchkin.

I’ve been living with Smokey for five years now, ever since he joined Mom and me. But I was with her for five years before that. She brought me into her home when I showed up as a stray kitten. I was actually the newcomer then because Mom already had a cat. His name was Pie, so you can probably guess why I’m Cherry. At least I’m not Apple, although I have to admit that if you look at my tummy you might think that Apple would suit me better. I do love my treats 😔.

Smokey mentioned that we are both indoor/outdoor cats, which is true, but I’m different from him. Unlike him, I’m no hunter; I don’t really like go go much farther than the back porch where I can sit and enjoy the sun. So I could probably get used to being an indoor cat as long as I have toys to play with, somewhere soft to lie, and someone to love. I am like Smokey in that I’m not really a lap cat, but that doesn’t mean that I’m not a sweet lady who loves attention and petting. I also really enjoy playing with toys, especially with feathers on a pole. I do like hunting those!

As you can see, I am different from Smokey. But he and I are identical in that we both want to find new forever homes, either together or separately. Mom was a special lady and I would love to find another special person (or persons!) to live with and love. I’d love for you to come down to the Safe Place for Pets Welcome Center and see what a sweet lady I am. I suppose you can meet Smokey too, but I’m all about me! You can make an appointment to come see me by either calling 719-359-0201 or emailing Safe Place at info@safeplacepets.org  I’ll be waiting!

Share on facebook
Facebook